For Genealogists - Dominion Electors List 1938

Genealogists and others interested in finding the names of people in rural southern Alberta in the year 1938 will find a new addition to the Galt Archives collection of special value. Unlike the census, which is available only through 1921 and is handwritten, these lists for this single year have been typeset and are easy to read.

Titled "Dominion Electors List", (accession number 20051018002), this file gives the names and occupations of all voters over the age of 21 for the District of Macleod in that year. Although the lists are assembled by rural polling divisions, each voter’s community/town is given. The communities include: Aldersyde, Ardenville, Armada, Arrowwood, Badger Lake, Barons, Beaver Mines, Bellevue, Black Diamond, Blackie, Mazeppa, Blairmore, Brant, Brockett, Burmis, Carmangay, Carseland, Cayley, Champion, Claresholm, Coleman, Cowley, Enchant, Ensign, Eyremore, Farrow, Fishburn, Frank, Furman, Glenwood(ville), Granum, Hartell, Hartleyville, Herronton, High River, Hillcrest, Hillspring, Picture Butte, Iron Springs, Kirkcaldy, Lomond, Longview, Lundbreck, Lyndon, Macleod, Maycroft, Milo, Mossleigh, Muirhead, Nanton, North Fork, Okotoks, Parkland, Pincher Creek, Pincher Station, Retlaw, Royalties, Shouldice, Spring Point, Springridge, Standoff, Stavely, Todd Creek, Travers, Turin, Turner Valley, Twin Butte, Vulcan, Wheat Centre, Woodhouse.

Thanks to our dedicated volunteer Chris Morrison this excellent resource is now ready for researchers!